US Secretary of Energy to chair the IEA’s 2022 Ministerial Meeting

Energize Editors

Energize Editors

US Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm has been elected by the IEA’s Governing Board to chair the Agency’s next Ministerial Meeting.

The Governing Board also elected three vice-chairs for the meeting: Angus Taylor, Australia’s Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction; Tinne Van der Straeten, Belgium’s Minister of Energy; and Dan Jørgensen, Denmark’s Minister of Climate, Energy and Utilities.

The meeting will be held in Paris in the first quarter of 2022. The IEA Ministerial meets every two years to set the Agency’s mandate and review its achievements. It will provide a key opportunity after COP26 in Glasgow for countries to advance how they can work together to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions and meet the goals of the Paris Agreement while ensuring secure energy supplies. 

Photo Credit: “Governor Jennifer Granholm, Sarah Rosen Wartell” by Center for American Progress is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

Related Posts

Sau Ting Kwok - Hong Kong

Walrus From Space – Animal Spotters Wanted to Join Mass Survey

WWF and British Antarctic Survey (BAS) are seeking the public’s help to search for walrus in thousands of satellite images taken from space, with the aim of learning more about how walrus will be impacted by the climate crisis. It’s hoped half a million people worldwide will join the new ‘Walrus from Space’ research project, a census of Atlantic walrus and walrus from the Laptev Sea, using satellite images provided by space and intelligence company Maxar Technologies’ DigitalGlobe.

Read More »